The Fat Kat Cooks: Holiday Special Series

Hello Everyone! I hope you all had a blast during your holidays! I sure did. I enjoyed cooking and eating the most. My family and I made a lot for Christmas and New Year and I will be sharing them all to you what we had made for both events.

funny-fat-cat-meme-261

While cooking, I made a few mistakes especially with my first cake roll. The experience was well worth it, though. In this series, I will share to you recipes that are perfect for the holidays, and maybe a few stories.

 

Vanilla and Orange Cake Roll

cakeroll4

I went overboard with the powdered sugar.

This was my first cake roll. They say that it is difficult to make so I looked up recipes on the internet with just few ingredients. There were other recipes that required buttermilk. Buttermilk, as far as I know, doesn’t exist in my country’s grocery store. It took me a while but I finally found it. However, mine was a bit of a flop. I was racing against time because I still had to go to work that day. To top it off, I still had to cook lunch for the family.

Ingredients

Tools
  • hand mixer
  • 10×15 baking pan
  • off-set spatula
  • rubber spatula
  • measuring cups and spoons
  • sieve
  • wax/baking paper
  • damp towel that is slightly larger than baking pan*
Batter
  • 2/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 large eggs, separated
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar, divided (1/4 cup would be for egg whites)
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
Filling
  • 1 1/2 cups whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp orange extract
  • orange marmalade (optional)

Procedure

  • Preheat oven 250°C. Line baking pan (10×15) with baking paper. Grease pan with unsalted butter.
  • In a large bowl, whip cream while gradually adding sugar. Add orange extract and continue whipping until stiff peaks form. Place in fridge to keep cool.
  • In a bowl, sift flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
  • In a large bowl, beat 4 egg yolks until fluffy then gradually add 1/2 cup of sugar. Beat until fully incorporated and color is pale yellow. Add water and vanilla extract and continue mixing until well blended.
  • In low speed, gradually add flour mixture. Scrape sides from time to time with rubber spatula. Mix until flour is fully incorporated into batter. Set aside.
  • In another bowl, beat egg whites while gradually adding the remaining 1/4 sugar until stiff peaks form.
  • Fold in egg whites into batter.
  • Spoon batter into baking pan and spread batter evenly with off-set spatula. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until cake is springy at the center.
  • Remove from oven and immediately turn the cake over onto prepared towel.
  • Carefully peel off baking paper and roll the cake and towel together tightly starting from the narrow end. Place seam side down on wire cooling rack to cool completely.

*Note: The purpose of the damp towel is to prevent the cake from drying out as it cools down.

Assembly

Carefully unroll cooled cake. Do not unroll it all the way, make sure that there is still a slight roll at the end. Spread marmalade onto cake then the chilled cream, leave at least 1 inch space on each side. Re-roll cake without the towel. Serve cake seam side down. Dust with powdered sugar before serving.

Novice mistakes

The cream filling was runny and wasn’t chilled properly. I was told that I should’ve made the cream in a cooler place. Unfortunately, we do not have air-conditioning so no matter how much I whipped it, it still fell a bit flat. The only saving grace was the marmalade that I included that wasn’t in the original recipe. I could’ve made the cream as a sort of partner to be served along with a slice of the cake like an ice cream.

chibichristmas

 

One thought on “The Fat Kat Cooks: Holiday Special Series

  1. Pingback: The Fat Kat Cooks: Eggplant Moussaka | The Fat Kat

Leave a Reply

