What every book lover hates

I was cleaning my book collection when I noticed that I have several tomes missing. I then remembered that I had lent them to a few friends. I got pissed off and I continued to lovingly take care of each book I had in my possession. I grumbled and muttered my way through 170 books and stacking them properly inside a plastic storage bin.

I hate having books missing. To date, I have about 6 0r 8 tomes missing. And that is not because of severe neglect. I love my books.

I lent them.

And they never returned.

Of all the irresponsible things….. GAAARRRHHH!

giphy

Here’s a list what I really hate about borrowers wanting to read my books:

  1. Promising to return it within a few days.

So you wanted to borrow my HP Book 3 and told me you’ll return it within a couple of days. That’s okay. I had read it several times just make sure to return it on the said date.

Until that “couple of days” turns into several weeks.

disappointed-meme-face-22

Dude, are you kidding me?

2. From pristine to trash

The dog-eared pages where you had left off. The coffee/tea stains on some of the pages. A ripped corner. Cover has several folds and unattractive creases which “you have no idea” how the book got it since you “handled it with care”

Dude! Does this look like you handled it with care?

713lwq2uufl-_sl256_

Unless I lent it to you looking like this then that is another different matter entirely. C’mon, man!

And have you heard of bookmarks? They MADE bookmarks to prevent YOU from marking a page by folding the corner. If you don’t have one, use a damned piece of paper. NEVER DOG-EAR MY BOOK!

3. Losing it

You can’t find it? Where the heck did you place my book? I lent it to you MONTHS ago! Did you try cleaning your room? DID YOU LEAVE IT SOMEWHERE IN A CAFE!?

annoyed-y-u-no-l

Y u no take care?

4. Letting someone else borrow the book

PERSON! ARE YOU THE OWNER OF THAT TOME I LENT YOU? IS YOUR NAME WRITTEN THERE ON THE FIRST PAGE? NO? THEN DON’T F*CKING LET WHOEVER WANTS TO READ MY BOOK BORROW IT FROM YOU BECAUSE IT IS NOT YOURS. IF HE/SHE WANTS TO BORROW IT, HE/SHE SHOULD TELL ME PERSONALLY. UNDERSTAND?

5. Letting someone else borrow the book and they lose it.

I hate this one the most. I have a couple of books that I lent to my sister and to my college classmate.

The book I lent my sister:

rose_red_book

This is the only Stephen King book that I ACTUALLY own. I had my aunt send it to me from the US because it is unavailable here in the Philippines. She brought it one day to her school to read during breaks and her teacher saw it and was interested in it. She wanted to borrow it. My sister allowed it.

It hasn’t returned to me.

It has been 11 years already.

The book I lent my college classmate:

9781402588853

She liked Patricia Cornwell books. She saw me reading this one time at school and she wanted to borrow it. It was okay with me since I read it twice already. She promised to return it within 5 days. Guess what? Five days was up and she never returned it. I asked her for it and she told me that she lent it to another friend. I got pissed off and told her to retrieve the tome from said friend.

It hasn’t returned to me.

And it has been 8 freaking years since it happened.

30050

So you’re asking me if you could borrow another book from me again? Another chance at redemption?

NO!_Meme

Buy your own book.

angry-middle-finger


Media used are not my own.
5 thoughts on “What every book lover hates

Leave a Reply

